Citizen Kane 4.5/5

Posted: October 22, 2013 in Film Review
Tags: , , , , ,

Well my reason for watching this film is that I had been researching on the so-called best films of all time. This film here seems to take the top spot a lot. Another reason I wanted to watch it is because it used to be in Mark Kermodes top 10 films of all time. (It has been replaced by Pans Labyrinth.) I respect Mark Kermode a lot, he definitely is one of the most honest film critics around in my opinion. Anyway this film is a classic example to me of how sometimes you watch a movie and then you give it a few days to “settle in,” and then after giving it time you feel different about it. This is actually one of the reasons that I will rarely ever write a review directly after watching a new film. The film itself is a story all about a mans life. The very first scene we see is someone dying after uttering the word “Rosebud.”

citizenkane2-1bf6af94bb91d835e74468599ba20c3cde710b98-s6-c30

From this mystery is born the main arc of the story. We learn that this man was Charles Foster Kane. He was the owner of a huge newspaper and was extremely rich. The story is told in a very non-linear fashion. It skips about at different stages of Kanes life for storytelling purposes.

kane4

Beneath the surface of the story is a lot of themes to do with greed, loneliness, and selfishness. It’s quite a sad story in a way and its played very well by Orson Welles. One of the most interesting things about Citizen Kane for me though is its style. It uses lighting beautifully alongside with shadow. It also uses a technique called deep focus, which is where literally everything in shot, whether it is at a distance or close up remains clear and in focus. So yeah the style is very interesting. It’s strange because when I think about it, it’s a very simple little story but there’s so much going on at the same time. I loved the non-linear structure and the way it was used.

kane12

While I definitely enjoyed the film and loved the style, it wont make it into my top 10. I respect that for its time it must have been really groundbreaking though. I do actually want to re watch it quite soon, so that says a lot about it.

Leave a Reply

