Censorship sucks :(

Posted: March 3, 2012 in Film Review

So as you may have guessed I love horror movies. Some of which have lots of blood and guts and controversial themes in, and I absolutely hate when the BBFC cuts stuff out of movies. I hate it because it takes away your right to make an adult decision whether you want to watch something or not. Now don’t get me wrong I completely agree with age certification, I think kids shouldnt be watching some things and the parents have a right to know what not to let their kids watch. But cutting a section or scene of a movie for whatever reason just makes me think adults are being treated like kids. I have always tried my very best to see the movies I want to see 100% uncut, this often means importing region 1 (US) dvds as they tend not to cut stuff as much over there. it can be very hard to know what is actually cut in the U.K so I thought I would tell anyone reading this a good source. I use 3 internet sites to check the first one is the actual BBFC website: BBFC.co.uk where you can use their search bar. The second one is: melonfarmers.co.uk which is really well put together in fact I think it’s better than using the BBFC one. The other one I don’t use quite as much as it can be outdated a bit and that is: movie-censorship.com the cool thing about this one is it does a visual comparison between the various editions available and you will find that it is often the region 1 editions that are the best. One thing I will say though is it has got better over the years, stuff gets reissued and the previous cuts are often waived. However there are still a LOT of movies remaining cut.

 

So that’s my rant over with, check out the sites if you are unsure on anything you want to see uncut.

Leave a comment